Whew!

Is it just me or is 2015 racing out of the gates?! I had two really good blog posts in my head ready to write after the first of January. For the life of me, I can’t remember what one of them was. The following is the other…

I had a great time off from work December 31st through January 4th! I had grand plans to clean and work on some crochet projects. Ask me how those went? I guess you could say I accomplished a little of both, but not what I originally had in mind. Before Thanksgiving and Christmas I worked really hard to clean out clutter and just clean in general. Some might consider me a bit of a hoarder. But, nonetheless I was ready to part with “stuff”. While in my cleaning and de-cluttering, I boxed up old t-shirts. My plan for these shirts was to make t-shirt “yarn”. As I was cleaning the boxes of shirts ended up back in my closet. But, they had been labeled, that’s progress, right?! So, come January 1, I took out a box of shirts, gathered my materials and got to work! I first searched my Pinterest boards and looked through the tutorials I pinned for this project.

Ready to roll!

Ready to roll!

This is the one I settled on and got busy! I will tell you, it was easy and simple enough, but VERY time consuming. I wasn’t in a hurry and I took my time. I watched movies and took breaks. After all, I was on vacation. I spent four days cutting up shirts. The first and second day I spent about 7-8 hours cutting, pulling and winding up balls of yarn. The third day wasn’t as long, probably 5 or 6 hours.20150104_182029 The last day I only cut for an hour or two. I still have about 8 shirts to cut up. After my four days of work I ended up with 29 balls of t-shirt yarn!

20150102_141426All in all, I was pretty proud of what I accomplished! Now, to decide what I want to crochet with it!

Also, this post wouldn’t be complete without my last yarn purchase…

20150104_183516-1

Yarn purchase 1/4/2015

I made a quick run to Walmart to pick up a couple skeins to finish out my current project. I talked in my previous post about finishing up projects I started. This is what I’m working on right now. It’s an afghan/throw for a baby/toddler or couch. (I apologize for for the terrible lighting.) The dark gray skein I picked up for another project in progress, but realized it was the wrong shade of gray. I’ll find another project for it. This yarn addict doesn’t return yarn! 😉

Current project

Current project

Leave a Reply

